Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2011

The Prize honours the best work of fiction by a living author, which has been translated into English from any other language and published in the United Kingdom during 2010. Uniquely, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize gives the winning author and translator equal status: each receives GBP5,000. A longlist will be announced in March 2011, followed by the shortlist in April at London Book Fair. The winner will be announced at a ceremony in Central London in May. The judges for this year's prize are:

* Harriett Gilbert, writer, academic and broadcaster
* Author, M J Hyland
* Catriona Kelly, writer and Professor of Russian at the University of Oxford
* Novelist and reviewer, Neel Mukherjee
* Boyd Tonkin, Literary Editor of the Independent

No comments: