Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

The CWA Dagger in the Library 2011

"Authors like Val McDermid and Ian Rankin are well-known amongst the readers of crime fiction but, beneath the top rank of bestsellers are a host of writers, some new and some who have built loyal followings over the years but who have never quite broken through. It is to give a boost to these authors that the Crime Writers' Association Dagger in the Library Award exists. Again kindly sponsored by the publishers, Random House, the Dagger is awarded to a writer nominated by library users and chosen by a panel of librarians, all of whom work with the public. This year's panel is chaired by Cheney Gardner, Reader and Community Services Manager at Richmond upon Thames Libraries, and includes librarians from throughout the UK. Unlike most other literary prizes, the Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for the author's body of work. Last year's winner was Ariana Franklin, the author of the series of historical novels featuring 'Mistress of the Art of Death' Adelia Aguilar. Previous winners have included Colin Cotterill with his books about the National Coroner of Laos, Stuart MacBride and Craig Russell; whilst Lesley Horton and C J Sansom have been Highly Recommended. Nominations for this year's Dagger in the Library Award will close on 1 April 2011

No comments: