Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Friday, September 24, 2010

PEN Literary Awards winners

The PEN Literary Awards, sponsored by the PEN American Center, have been announced. A ceremony honoring winners and runners up will take place in New York City on Wednesday, October 13:

* PEN/Robert Bingham Fellowship for Writers ($35,000): Paul Harding for Tinkers
* PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction ($25,000): Don DeLillo
* PEN/W.G. Sebald Award for a Fiction Writer in Mid-Career ($10,000): Susan Choi
* PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography ($5,000): Michael Scammell for Koestler
* PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Award for a Master American Dramatist (prize consists of a gift from Bauman Rare Books): David Mamet
* PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Award for an American Playwright in Mid-Career ($7,500): Theresa Rebeck
* PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000): Marshall Jon Fisher for A Terrible Splendor
* PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship ($5,000): Pat Schmatz
* PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry ($5,000): Marilyn Hacker
* PEN/Tuck Award for Paraguayan Literature ($3,000): Esteban Bedoya for El Apocalipsis segĂșn Benedicto
* PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000): Anne Carson for her translation from the Greek of An Oresteia
* PEN Translation Prize ($3,000): Michael Henry Heim for his translation from the Dutch of Wonder by Hugo Claus

No comments: