Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Saturday, May 10, 2008

Independent Foreign Fiction Prize winner announced

This year's Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, the UK's leading award for contemporary literature in translation, has been won by the Belgian-born scientist and novelist Paul Verhaeghen for his novel Omega Minor. The author, a cognitive psychologist who has worked in the US since 1997 and now teaches in Georgia, translated his epic of Nazi-era Berlin, atomic research and the long aftermath of the Third Reich into English from the Dutch original. So he stood to collect the entire prize money of GBP10,000, which is usually divided between author and translator

No comments: