Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Wednesday, June 09, 2010

Ex-Czech President Havel wins Kafka literary prize

Ex-Czech President Havel wins Kafka literary prizeFormer President Vaclav Havel has won the prestigious Franz Kafka Prize. An international jury that included prominent German literary critic Marcel Reich-Ranicki and British publisher John Calder chose to give Havel the prize, which is awarded annually and includes $10,000. Past winners include the American novelist Philip Roth and Nobel laureates Elfriede Jelinek of Austria and Harold Pinter of Britain. It is awarded by the Prague-based Franz Kafka Society to authors whose works "appeal to readers regardless of their origin, nationality and culture." Since the 1960s, Havel, now 73, has published dozens of plays, books and political essays to international acclaim. His first play in 20 years, "Leaving," premiered two years ago - AP

No comments: