Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Friday, April 30, 2004

The Friday Brain-teaser from xrefer. This week: The New EU. On 1 May 2004, ten new countries will join the European Union. They are: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, the Slovak Republic (Slovakia), and Slovenia. Try to identify which of these countries is referred to by each of these clues. Answers here:

1. Germany invaded this country in September 1939 and it was partitioned between the Soviet Union and Germany
2. An island in the Mediterranean (capital: Nicosia), invaded by Turkey in 1974
3. Another Mediterranean island, where the apostle Paul was shipwrecked and bitten by a snake
4. It was part of Czechoslovakia until 1993 and its capital is Prague
5. Vilnius is its capital and largest city
6. Bartok and Kodaly were both composers from this country and collected its folk music
7. A republic on the Baltic Sea, its capital is Tallinn
8. Its language is sometimes called Lettish
9. This became a new nation in 1993 when it broke away from Czechoslovakia and became a separate republic. Its capital is Bratislava
10. A republic of the northwestern Balkan Peninsula, its capital is Ljubljana

No comments: