Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Sunday, March 15, 2009

ALA awards

ALA is announcing Clara Nalli Bohrer, director, West Bloomfield Township Public Library, as the 2009 winner of the Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children Award.

John Blyberg is the 2009 recipient of the LITA/Brett Butler Entrepreneurship Award for his development of the Social OPAC application suite, also known as SOPAC (for Social Online Public Access Catalog).

The Library & Information Technology Association, a division of the American Library Association, has announced the 2009 winner of the Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology. The winner is William H. Mischo, head of the Grainger Engineering Library and Information Center at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Library.

Ken Middleton, reference librarian at Middle Tennessee State University, will receive the 2009 ABC-CLIO Online History Award for his professional achievement in online historical reference highlighted by his development of Discovering American Women's History Online, a web-based historical research tool.

The American Library Association has named "Bringing Books to Life," an outstanding program of the Nashville Public Library, the 2009 winner of the Marshall Cavendish Excellence in Library Programming Award.

Dr. Beverly P. Lynch, professor at the Graduate School of Education & Information Studies and director of the UCLA Senior Fellows Program and the California Rare Book School, is this year's recipient of the American Library Association Joseph W. Lippincott Award.

The American Library Association has named Jean Preer's Library Ethics, published by Libraries Unlimited, the winner of the 2009 Greenwood Publishing Group Award for the Best Book in Library Literature.

No comments: