Featured Link

Featured Link: World Book Trade (e-books, awards, videos)

Thursday, February 28, 2008

The Orwell Prize 2008 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2008 Orwell Prize has been announced. 18 authors and 12 journalists are now in the running for two prizes that reward those who have most successfully achieved Orwell's aim 'to make political writing into an art'. A record 181 books have been submitted for this year's book Prize, surpassing both the Man Booker and Samuel Johnson Prizes. These include works by two Nobel Laureates (Doris Lessing and Orhan Pamuk), and the British Prime Minister (Gordon Brown). 54 journalists, including some of Britain's most renowned correspondents, have submitted for this year's journalism Prize, also a record

No comments: